In the summer of 2003, a unique Maryland civil
war artifact, now called the "Maryland Scroll", was discovered in
Culpeper County, Virginia. On August 28th, Bob Luddy, President of
the Brandy Station Foundation, will discuss recent research findings
on the "Maryland Scroll" and explain the significance of the piece
to Maryland, Virginia, and the Confederacy.
In the early 1990’s, a collector of Civil War
artifacts took a chainsaw and removed a portion of the wall in a
house in Brandy Station. On the wall had been written the date of
March 16th 1863, Stuart’s Horse Artillery, Breathed’s Battery. The
following day, Breathed’s Battery was heavily engaged at the Battle
of Kelly’s Ford. For one hundred and thirty years, this inscription
lay hidden beneath layers of wallpaper, paint and wood paneling
until it was discovered and removed. In January of 2004, the scroll
was obtained by the Brandy Station Foundation and is now on display
in the Graffiti House.
The "Maryland Scroll" contains the names of 16
Maryland artillerists who served rifled gun #1 of James Breathed's
Battery and were on picket duty in Brandy Station in March of 1863.
Current research is attempting to humanize the 16 by the locating of
as much personal and family history as possible and to find any
existing photographs. The 16 are: