The Grand Review
- March 2009
Graffiti House - Where the Handwriting is on the Wall'
To navigate this
newsletter scroll down for a complete look or click below on the
article of interest.
March 20, 2009
Foundation Annual Dinner
Celebrating 20 years
“Duel on Yew Ridge” by Don Stivers is the
cover illustration of Daniel Beattie’s new book.
Join us as we celebrate 20 years (1989-2009) of
effort by dedicated volunteers to conserve and protect the historic
rural character and the Civil War battlefields of the Brandy Station
area within Culpeper County, Virginia.
The special guest speaker will be Dr. Daniel
Beattie who recently released his latest book: Brandy Station
1863: First Step Towards Gettysburg, It is published by Osprey
and is volume #201 of the Campaign Series. The author, a generous
supporter of the BSF, will be signing copies of his new book
before the dinner. Dr. Beattie will talk about “The Remarkable
Career of David McMurtrie Gregg and His Strange Performance at the
Battle of Brandy Station.”
Dr. Beattie commissioned three original
paintings by Adam Hook for this book. He has generously donated the
originals to the Brandy Station Foundation. They are called: Save
the Day! ; Buying Time on the Beverly Ford Road ; and, Buford on
Cunningham’s Ridge. We will be proud to display them at the annual
dinner and thereafter at the Graffiti House.
Dr. Daniel Beattie is a native of southern New
York. He earned a BA at the City University of New York, and a MA
and PhD at Duke University. For many years he served on the Boards
of Trustees of the Association for the Preservation of Civil War
Sites (as Secretary) and the Civil War Preservation Trust (as
Chairman of the Battlefields Preservation Committee). He has
received the highest Preservationist Award of both groups. He was a
member of the Shenandoah Battlefields National Historic District
Commission, which set up the present Foundation of the same name.
He sat on the Board of the Brandy Station Foundation for about 10
years. He has been instrumental in saving each of the parcels of
land preserved on the Brandy Station battlefield.
He has conducted guided tours of many American
and European battlefields. He lives in Charlottesville, Virginia,
with his wife of 34 years, Peggy, and two children.
When: March 20th. Please arrive at 6:30 PM to
visit with friends. Cash Bar available
Dinner will be served at 7:00 PM
Where: Brandy Station Volunteer Fire
Department Hall at 19601 Church Road, Brandy Station, Virginia 22714
RSVP: By March 11th by phone
(540) 727-7718 (Graffiti House), or (540) 399-1637 (Board member
Helen Geisler) or email:
click here then print, complete and mail the form to the Brandy Station
Foundation, P.O. Box 165, Brandy Station, Virginia 22714
Civil War Era Gown Donation
Rhodes of the
Little Fork Rangers donated a beautiful Civil War era gown. It is
French, circa 1861 with an unusual repeated pattern. It would have
been a lady’s “Sunday Best”. The dress will be displayed at the
Brandy Station Foundation Christmas Party
A great time
was had by over a hundred people at the Christmas Party in December.
Santa Claus (i.e. Dale Brown) listened to young and old; Robert E.
Lee (i.e. George Wells) graced the party, and The Wilderness Run
Players provided beautiful dulcimer music. Carolyn and Jack Reeder
were present to sign copies of their new book published by the
Foundation called From a True Soldier and Son: The Civil War
Letters of William C. H. Reeder. Thirteen of young William's
letters to his parents were datelined either Encamped near Culpeper
or Brandy Station. Karla Sedeita brought her gourmet food to add to
the Graffiti House gift shop items--from peaches to peanuts and
Mary Tholand (left, Secretary of the BSF) and
Paula Luddy (wife of BSF President Bob Luddy)
chat at the BSF Christmas party. Wilderness Players to the left, Santa to the right.
For additional pictures
Wall Signings Continue…
George Colvin, great great-grandson of George
Mechoir Sheads (Little Fork
Rangers and 6th Virginia
Cavalry) signs the wall.
Visitors to the Graffiti House are invited to
sign a 21st century Wall of Honor downstairs if they have
a relative who was in Brandy Station with either Northern or
Southern troops. Visitors are asked to sign their relative’s name
and unit if known and then their name and relationship. Signatures
from many states are displayed! Many enjoy this unique connection
between the present and the past.
Sunday Lecture Series for 2009
"The Emergence of Grant" - Richard Deardoff
"The Courts-Martial of Lt. Col. Henry Clay Pate" - Joseph McKinney
"Three Years a Soldier" - Richard Griffin
"The 19th Century Art of Mourning" - 49th Virginia reenactors
"Walt Whitman's Civil War" - Melissa Delcour
"The Civil War in Culpeper Through the Eyes of Artists and
Photographers" - Michael Block
"The Music of the Civil War" - Evergreen Shade
Saturday Battlefield Tours
Ford & St. James Church (April 4, May 30, July 25)
Ford & Stevensburg (April 18, June 13, Aug 8)
Hill (May 2, June 27, Aug 22)
Knoll & Yew Ridge (May 16, July 11, Sept 5)
from the Graffiti House at 10:00 am and last 2 hours. Cost is
$10.00 for adults, children are free. No reservation needed, just
show-up at Graffiti House before ten. For info contact Gary Wilson
at 540-547-4106 or email
BSFJune91863@aol.com. Full tour schedule at
www.brandystationfoundation.com. Special tours for
individuals or groups on other days can be specially arranged.
Graffiti House Restoration Update
On July 1, 2007,
the Brandy Station Foundation was awarded a grant in the amount of
$14,250 from the Department of Historic Resources of the
Commonwealth of Virginia. In order to secure this grant, the
Foundation matched this amount. The investigative phase of the
restoration project is complete and initial stabilization of four
areas of the walls has taken place. This has used up the grant money
from the State. The Foundation would like to thank Virginia State
Senator Edd Houck and Representative Ed Scott for their support
which resulted in the approval of this grant request.
Phase I for the
restoration of the House is to stabilize the main floor framing to
make it safe for visitors. This will be at a cost of approximately
$28,000.00; this work will begin very shortly at minimal impact to
visitors. A Phase I Oversight Committee has been formed ; the
Committee will contract the project to a qualified vendor after
receipt of a valid contract. The report gives an estimate for Phase
II, the stabilization of the 2nd floor, a cost of
Funds will need to be
raised for the project. If you would like to contribute to this
project, please send a check to the “Brandy Station Foundation” and
write “Graffiti House Restoration” in the memo line.
Park Day 2009 is Saturday, April 4th
Fauquier County High School students work in
the backyard of the Graffiti House.
The Civil War
Preservation Trust, in coordination with the History Channel, will
be sponsoring "Park Day 2009" on Saturday, April 4. This effort
involves well over a hundred Civil War sites across the country that
encourage volunteers to come out and help maintain these areas of
historic importance. In the past, Volunteers at the Graffiti House
have cleared trails, planted trees, weeded and mulched the gardens.
The trail at Kelly's Ford has been kept open over the past few years
because of this effort. Anyone who wishes to help can show up at the
Graffiti House at 9AM on April 4. Please bring work clothes and
gloves and any landscaping tools you have. For more information,
contact Richard Deardoff at
email@example.com or 540-937-7718.
Fauquier County is sponsoring a free Civil War
Symposium on March 28, 2009 from 8 AM-5:30 PM at the Fauquier
High School Auditorium in Warrenton, Virginia. The symposium is
titled “Bivouacs & Battlefields: the Civil War landscape of
The symposium will focus on twelve battles and
engagements that took place of began in Fauquier County. Four
of the fights have a direct relationship to Brandy Station and
northern Culpeper County: the fight at Rappahannock Station in
August 1862 ; the March 1863 fight at Kelly’s Ford, where the
‘Gallant’ Pelham fell are two of the four,
The Gettysburg campaign and the Battle of Brandy
Station have its roots in Fauquier County. The two Federal Cavalry
wings under Brigadier Generals John Buford and David Gregg crossed
into Culpeper County at Kelly’s and Beverly Ford on the misty early
morning of June 9 to begin what was to become the largest cavalry
battle during the Civil War and ever in North America.
The final action was the second Battle of
Rappahannock Station in November 1863. It was here where the
Army of Northern Virginia was forced from Culpeper County for the
Author Gary Adelman, from Historic Associates
Incorporated and a Gettysburg licensed battlefield guide has been
compiling the majority of the information with input form various
members of the historical community. Michael Block from the Brandy
Station Foundation is on the committee that is overseeing the
Confirmed speakers include Robert K. Krick, Gary
Adelman, Bud Hall, Bob Zeller, and Childs Burden.
This event is FREE! Lunch will be available for
purchase. The Brandy Station Foundation will have a table at this
event with information and articles for sale.
Revised Membership Policy
The Brandy Station
Foundation Board of Directors has enacted a long overdue new
membership policy. As with all non-profit organizations, the
Foundation has been affected by the economy of the nation.
the ANNUAL dues for the BSF will be $25 per household. Our
membership year will run April 1 through March 31. Any dues received
between December 1, 2008 and March 31, 2009 will be applicable
through March 31, 2010. Any amount you wish to send over the $25
annual dues will be gratefully received as a donation.
Pleases send your dues in
by April 1, 2009.
Click here for membership application