Make your own free website on

Remembrance Days in Culpeper: 2007
 St. James Church Workday

On Saturday, March 31st, the Brandy Station Foundation will hold a battlefield workday from 9AM to 2PM at the historic St. James Church site. Those interested in helping to maintain these hallowed grounds are invited to meet at the Graffiti House in Brandy Station at 9 AM. (Click for directions.)

Over the past one hundred and forty years, periwinkle and trees have overgrown the site where the St. James Episcopal Church once stood in Brandy Station.  During the June 9th, 1863 Battle of Brandy Station, Confederate Gen. J.E.B. Stuart was headquartered near this church at Fleetwood Hill In 1969 a survey and excavation of the Church cemetery by the Smithsonian Institute uncovered the church's original foundation and an extensive graveyard. Archeologists discovered that church pews had been used to fashion coffins for those killed during the action.

While the church survived the battle, it did not survive the Army of the Potomac's massive 1863-64 winter encampment in Culpeper County. St. James Church was dismantled and the brick structure was used to construct walkways, fireplaces and fire pits in the Federal camps. Today, the Christ Episcopal Church owns the 2-acre parcel in Brandy Station. The land is leased to and maintained by the Brandy Station Foundation.

The purpose of the workday is to provide routine maintenance at the site. The Foundation will continue it efforts to clean up the area by eliminating fallen trees, heavy brush and weeds to provide better access to the site. In the future, the Foundation would like to create a series of walking tails with proper signage to provide visitors detailed information on the church’s historical and religious significance.

Richard Deardoff, a teacher at the Fauquier County High School, is organizing the workday at St. James Church. It is scheduled to last from 9AM to 2PM. Please meet at the Graffiti House in Brandy Station, 19484 Brandy Road, Brandy Station, Virginia. For more information call 540-727-7718.

Return to top                                                Return to Home Page