The Brandy Station Foundation is pleased to announce the purchase
and preservation of eight acres of riverfront land along the
Rappahannock River near Kelly’s Ford in northern
County. The land was purchased from Mr. and Mrs. Steve Walker,
owners of the Rappahannock River Campground.
The Foundation would like to thank the Civil War Preservation Trust
and Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation for providing
the majority of the funding that made this purchase possible. BSF
also obtained a loan from the Second Bank and Trust of Culpeper to
cover part of the cost and is seeking tax deductible donations from
its members and the community to cover the loan.
The historic property is located beside Route 620 (Edwards Shop
Road) on the south side of the
Rappahannock River. Hundreds of thousands of troops crossed Kelly’s
Ford during the Civil War, making it perhaps one of the most
significant river crossings of the war.
Early in the morning of June 9th, 1863 Colonel Alfred
Duffie, 2nd Cavalry Division, crossed the Rappahannock
River at Kelly’s Ford, headed towards the conflict that would become
known as the Battle of Brandy Station. The infantrymen, "some of who
splashed and frolicked as they waded through the waist-deep water",
followed him. Brigadier General Gregg, Commander of the 3rd
Cavalry Division, crossed last. The successful crossing of Kelly’s
Ford played a pivotal role in the outcome of the Battle of Brandy
Station. Other major battle actions occurred at the Ford on March 17
November 7, 1863.
The Foundation would like to make improvements to the land that
would make the property more accessible to visitors, including a
walking trail loop, passing the remnants of the Civil War rifle pits
and the old millrace from the Kellysville Mill.
Return to Home Page
Return to top