the Army of the Potomac was reorganized in March 1864,
General Meade abolished the Third Corps and assigned its
regiments to other corps. Famous units such as Kearney’s and
Hooker’s were broken up in the process, upsetting the rank
and file (and many of the line officers), who felt they
should be allowed to remain together for the final two
months of their enlistment.
Third Corps veterans erected a "headstone" for the corps at
the army's winter encampment near Brandy Station.
The comradeship of three years' service will never be
effaced as long as one is left who won the right to wear the
white and red diamonds. The stories and actions of the
wearers of the coveted “Kearney Patch” would now be recalled
with fondness around the campfires of the “old Third Corp”.